board walk blowup 2013, part 2–roman hager

Full disclosure here:  I know nothing about skimboarding. Nada. Zip. Not a thing.  But I don’t need anyone to tell me that I saw something kind of amazing at the Board Walk Blowup at Indialantic Beach this past weekend.

IMG_9022

His name is Roman Hager, he’s 7 years old, and he scored himself 1st place in the Mini Division at the contest. Like, wow.

IMG_9034IMG_9023

I suppose I expected to see amazing talent at this contest; after all, it was a pro/am event.  There were so many awesome, crazy talented skimboarders there. And then there was Roman.

IMG_9036IMG_9053

Watching this little dude hanging with the big boys and girls, waiting for his wave…seeing him go for it with no fear and so much skill…my mind was totally blown. He’s 7 years old. Wow.

IMG_9067

And it wasn’t just his skill in the water, but his confidence on the beach that was something to see.  He was clearly in his element…running into each wave with a sense of determination and purpose…and you don’t need to know anything about the sport to notice the respect that Roman was getting from competitors twice and three times his age.

IMG_9073IMG_9045

There’s no doubt in my mind that I’ll be seeing Roman again. In the meantime, thanks to the social media/internet world we live in, keeping up with him will be easy–the little dude’s everywhere (you can check out his Facebook fan page here :)

IMG_9018

 

One thought on “board walk blowup 2013, part 2–roman hager

  1. Wow, this brought tears to my eyes. I am so proud of my boys, and to get a post like this about one of them really is something special to me. As a parent you always think your kids are awesome and special. But when you hear it from a total stranger it means something totally different. Thanks Lisa for the kind words about my little grom, we are very proud of him.

Leave a Reply

