weekly photo challenge: foreign

I live in Florida, but I have only been here for a few years; before that, I was a true Yankee, a New York girl born and raised.  So there are many things about my new home that are foreign to me, even after being here for awhile. For example, the whole surfing thing–completely foreign to me.  I can’t imagine the bravery, the confidence, the physical stamina and endurance that it takes to be able to swim out into a rough ocean and ride the waves.  I am fascinated…and surfers are one of my favorite subjects to photograph.  This past weekend was a double-win for me:  not only did Hurricane Sandy leave us with crazy wild waves after she blew past our coastline, but there was also a pro surf tournament going on in nearby Cocoa Beach–the Slater Brothers Invitational. ImageImageThese are pictures of a couple  of amazing professional longboard surfers taking advantage of the waves that Sandy left behind.   As I watched them, out of the corner of my eye, I saw something even more foreign to me; a little surfer dude, maybe 8 years old, donning his wetsuit to go out and join the big boys in the surf.  Now, I am momma to three boys, all with a certain degree of daredevil in them, but I cannot imagine watching them…or encouraging them…to go out into the ocean in conditions such as they were that day.  The waves were 8-10 feet high, and the ripcurrents were fierce–there was a double-red-flag warning (meaning stay the heck out of the water ’cause it’s super-dangerous!) It’s one thing for the pros to be out there, I suppose they have the experience (and the size/strength) to know what to do and how to do it. I am a little afraid of the ocean, not knowing it all that well; I suppose we are all a little afraid of what is foreign to us. But this little man seemed familiar enough; he had no fear, and his dad helped to usher him out to where the waves were breaking.  The current pushed them down the shore out of my sight…I wish it hadn’t, ’cause I really wanted to see the little dude do his thing…ImageImage

2 thoughts on “weekly photo challenge: foreign

Leave a Reply

